Peter P. Chen Award 2012 Print

On behalf of the ER Institute and the ER Steering Committee, we are pleased to solicit nominations for the 2012 Peter P. Chen Award. Initiated by Elsevier in 2008 to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the journal, Data and Knowledge Engineering, the Peter P. Chen Award honors one person each year for his or her outstanding contributions to the field of conceptual modeling. The winner will receive a plaque and check for $1000 by the ER Institute. The award will be announced and presented at the ER Conference, in Florence. The awardee is not required to be present at the ER Conference to receive the award.

The selection process is done according to the following four criteria:

Criteria for the Award:

  • Research: how well the nominee has helped advance the field of conceptual modeling with his/her intellectual contributions.

  • Service: participation in the organization of conceptual-modeling-related meetings and conferences and participation in editorial boards of conceptual-modeling-related journals.

  • Education: how effectively the nominee has mentored doctoral students in conceptual modeling, produced researchers from their labs, and also helped mentor young people in the field.

  • Contribution to practice: the extent to which the nominee has contributed to technology transfer, commercialization, and industrial projects.

  • International reputation: the extent to which the nominee's work is visible to and has diffused into the international community.

The previous winners of the Peter P. Chen Award are:

2011 Prof. Tok Wang Ling, National University of Singapore, Singapore

2010 Prof. John Mylopoulos, University of Trento, Italy

2009 Prof. David Embley, BYU, USA

2008 Prof. Bernhard Thalheim, University of Kiel, Germany


Nominations should be sent by June 15, 2012 to the ER Steering Committee Chair, Prof. Il-Yeol Song [ This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ], who will manage the selection process. Each nomination should be accompanied by a summary statement about the nominee and a justification for the nomination. Based on the criteria for the award, the selection committee will select the best candidate among the nominees. The selection committee this year consists of the following five people:

  • Il-Yeol Song (Drexel University, USA)

  • Tok Wang Ling (National University of Singapore)

  • John Mylopoulos (University of Trento, Italy)

  • Veda Storey (Georgia State University, USA)

  • Yair Wand (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Selection committee members are not eligible for the award. If a member of the selection committee is nominated, the nominated person must withdraw from the selection committee or withdraw from the candidate pool.

More information about this award can be found at